Stop And Stare

For most of my life, I’ve lived in the Vietnamese version of “The Hood”. My neighborhood was known for its drug addicts and violence ridden history.

It was a dark night and I was walking home alone from my friends house after a Christmas party. It was a dark night, different than the normal nights at my neighborhood; there were people out in the streets walking and having a good time. It was a dark night, but it was noticeable that In the community parking lot there was a couple arguing about something next to their car; at the moment I didn’t care because arguing and yelling was the norm in my neighborhood. Then all of a sudden there was a loud “BANG”, followed by a deafening scream, not the scream of fright or anger, but the scream of pain. The boyfriend had slammed his girlfriends head onto the hood of the car. The people around that witnessed this didn’t even react to what had just happened in front of their faces. Not a single person was fazed at the fact that the girl was bleeding and screaming for help, they just kept walking and talking as if nothing had happened. I saw this and immediately dialed 911 in order to get a police officer to come and resolve this. This made me unable to stop noticing that no one dared to step in and help the girl. The boyfriend then took her and forcefully carried her, trying to shove her into the car. It was obvious that she was strenuously trying to avoid her boyfriends grasp. Nights in my neighborhood were usually quiet, but her cries for help awakened the silent night. To this day I still remember her agonizing voice in my head. I just looked at her and thought to myself, “If this was my mother or someone I knew, would I just stand here and stare?” I instinctively ran at him and tackled him down to the ground. It was difficult, a short kid against a big adult, but so much adrenaline was rushing through my body that I ended knocking him out and pinned him down to the ground until the cops came minutes later.

When the cops came they arrested him and transported the girl to the hospital. I later found out that he had a previous history of domestic abuse and was a heavy drug user. Apparently throughout all this chaos a friend of my parents saw it all happen and told my parents about what I had done. Something that I found shocking was when my parents were informed, I got yelled at for helping the girl. The reason behind why they were so mad is because ,”You shouldn’t help strangers, its none of your business.”


 

ezgif.com-crop.gif

Our prime purpose in this life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them.

Dalai Lama


This is the sick and horrible truth of our society, many of us only look out for ourselves. We’ve become blinded by our own selfishness that we are scared of helping others.

I would do it again in a heartbeat.

 

3 thoughts on “Stop And Stare

  1. A song that pumps me up a lot is my favorite song since I was a little boy. I heard this song when I was looking for something on the website and clicked on the wrong website. The song is called “Never Going to Let You Down” by Rick Astley. I listen to this song when I go to sleep because the song inspires me to wake up in the morning and continue to do my day to day things. Without this song ever being created or me ever hearing it I would cease to exist.
    The lyrics of the song makes me feel like I owe myself the best. During the song, Rick Astley sings “Never gonna give you up,” 6 times which are like gravy to my ears. This phrase makes me feel like that I will never give up on myself in any kind of situation and helps me believe in people who are qualified to be doing what they are doing. Trying my hardest into any kind of activity and doing my best will make me stronger and ensure that I will not cheat any valuable time. Another phrase that is sung by the god of artists is “Never gonna let you down.” This phrase sung through the voice of Jesus is so beautifully done that I get very excited whenever I hear it because of what those words mean to me. Try hard on everything making sure that I will never give up and let anybody down including myself. When I am doing anything I will do it to my fullest ability so I will not disappoint anybody especially me.
    Overall this song sung by the messenger of Jesus, gives my life and will always be in the hall of fame for best musics in the world. This song should become the national anthem of the world and Rick Astley needs to become the ruler of the world. Song pushes me, helps me, and most importantly it inspires me to be the best person I can be.

    Like

  2. Wow, I was left speechless after reading this. You’re a great writer and really know how to grab the readers attention. When you were talking about this post in class i wanted to immediately read your post, but I forgot and put it off until the last minute. I’m really glad I took the time to read this post because it was very interesting, keep up the good work 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

